About Us

The NSW Falls Prevention Network has existed since 1993. The role of this network has grown since its inception and now includes:

  • Meetings for discussion of falls related issues;
  • Dissemination of research findings both local and international;
  • Sharing resources developed and exploration of opportunities to combine resources in joint initiatives;
  • Encouragement of collaborative projects and research;
  • To act as a group to influence policy;
  • To liaise with NSW Health to provide information on current State/Commonwealth issues in relation to falls and
  • Maintenance of resources pertinent to the field.

The main purpose of the network is to share knowledge, expertise, and resources on falls injury prevention for older people.

The NSW Falls Prevention Network activities are part of the implementation of the NSW Falls Prevention Policy funded by the NSW Ministry of Health.

Join the Network

Stay up to date with news, information and ideas on falls prevention. Join the NSW Falls Prevention Network to receive the Falls Links newsletter and to participate in our community email list.

To subscribe

A class of yoga students

Send an email to majordomo@lists.health.nsw.gov.au

In the body of the message type: subscribe nsw-falls-network
On the next line type: end
Do not put anything in the subject line
NB: If your signature is automatically added every time you send an email you will need to turn this off.

You will receive an email to welcome you to the NSW Falls Network mailing list! Please read it carefully. This email includes guidelines for using the email list and important tips on email etiquette.

To unsubscribe

Send an email to majordomo@lists.health.nsw.gov.au

In the body of the message type: unsubscribe nsw-falls-network
On the next line type: end
Do not put anything in the subject line
NB: If your signature is automatically added every time you send an email you will need to turn this off.

You should get a message to say that you have succeeded and your name will be removed from the network.

If you have any problems please email fallsnetwork@neura.edu.au

↑top

Contact Information

Esther Vance
Project Officer, NSW Falls Prevention Network
Falls, Balance and Injury Research Centre, NeuRA

Phone: 02 9399 1063
Fax: 02 9399 1120
Emaile.vance@neura.edu.au

Professor Stephen Lord
NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow,
Falls,Balance and Injury Research Centre, NeuRA

Phone: 02 9399 1061
Fax: 02 9399 1120
Emails.lord@neura.edu.au

Ms Lorraine Lovitt
Leader, NSW Falls Prevention Program, Clinical Excellence Commission

Phone: 02 6656 5326/02 9269 5579
Mobile: 0422 002 091
Email: lorraine.lovitt@health.nsw.gov.au
Web: www.cec.health.nsw.gov.au/programs/falls-prevention

 

Woman lifting one leg while balancing with one hand on a secure beam

NSW Falls Prevention Program, Local Health Districts, Falls Prevention Coordinators

Measuring from the ground to the hand to begin exercise

Margaret Armstrong
Northern SydneyLocal Health District
Email: margaret.armstrong@health.nsw.gov.au

Jillian Orr
Central Coast Local Health District
Email: Jillian.Orr@health.nsw.gov.au

Carmelle Moses 
South Eastern Sydney Local Health District
Email: carmelle.moses@health.nsw.gov.au

Gaye Sykes
Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District
Email: gaye.sykes@sesiahs.health.nsw.gov.au

Kitty Kaur
Sydney West Local Health District
Email: kitty.kaur@health.nsw.gov.au

Jose Sinaguinan (Falls Prevention Coordinator)
Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District
Jose.Sinaguinan@health.nsw.gov.au

Vera-Lynn Baccoro (Dementia and Delirium CNC)
Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District
Email: Vera-Lynn.Baccoro@health.nsw.gov.au

Karen Bowen
Sydney Local Health District
Email:Karen.Bowen@sswahs.nsw.gov.au

Jeanette Dwyer
South Western Sydney Local Health District
Email:jeanette.dwyer@sswahs.nsw.gov.au

Julia Dayhew
Northern NSW Local Health District
Email: Julia.Dayhew@ncahs.health.nsw.gov.au

Siggy Haveland
Mid North Coast Local Health District
Email: siggy.haveland@ncahs.health.nsw.gov.au

Catherine Hugo (Health Promotion)
Hunter New England Local Health District
Email: catherine.hugo@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au

Bronwyn Penny
Hunter New England Local Health District
Email: bronwyn.penny@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au

Shelley Moor
Western NSW and Far West Local Health Districts
Email: Shelley.Moor@health.nsw.gov.au

Niccola Follett
Southern NSW Local Health District
Email: niccola.follett@gsahs.health.nsw.gov.au

Nazmul Ahasan
Murrumbidgee Local Health District
Email: nazmul.ahasan@gsahs.health.nsw.gov.au

Photos Credits

We gratefully acknowledge the Clinical Excellence Commission and Neuroscience Research Australia for permission to use their photos on this website.

Feedback

We welcome your ideas and thoughts about the NSW Falls Prevention Network.

Contact fields


↑top

Disclaimer

The Information contained in this site has been presented with all due care, the NSW Falls Prevention Network does not warrant or represent that the Information is free from errors or omission.

The Information is made available on the understanding that the NSW Falls Prevention Network shall have no liability (including liability by reason of negligence) to the users for any loss, damage, cost or expense incurred or arising by reason of any person using or relying on the information and whether caused by reason of any error, negligent act, omission or misrepresentation in the Information or otherwise.

Links to other Internet Sites are not under the control of the NSW Falls Prevention Network and are provided for information only. Care has been taken in providing these links as suitable reference resources. However, due to the changing nature of the Internet content, it is the responsibility of the users to make their own investigations, decisions, enquiries about the information retrieved from other Internet Sites. Providing these links does not imply any endorsement, non-endorsement, support or commercial gain by the NSW Falls Prevention Network.

↑top